"Gudiashvili Square" appears for the first time in the 1785 plan of Tbilisi, which was drawn up during the reign of Erekle II. At this time, the square was surrounded by so-called flat roof houses, but from the 19th century, the construction of Tbilisi houses with balconies started.
These include a residential house built in the 1820s, which is known to Tbilisi residents as the editorial office of "Literary Georgia" and the "Blue House". Considered one of the oldest buildings in Tbilisi, it once housed the headquarters and officers' hotel of the Crown Prince of Russia and the Russian Army.
Gudiashvili Square was restored in 2018. This included restoring the houses and cellars of the 16th century to their original appearance. Artists and builders did everything to preserve the historical value of the houses. Benches were set up around the ancient square so that Tbilisi residents and visitors could have a better look at the architecture of this historical place.