Chaladidi, because of its location, is an important transit hub. The Senaki-Poti railway line and International Highway S-2 which borders the Republic of Turkey, pass through it.
There are two villages named Chaladidi that used to be one community back in the 16th century – Zemo Chaladidi and Kvemo Chaladidi. Today, the former is in Senaki Municipality, and the latter has a railway station in Khobi Municipality.
The village’s name can be found in historical sources from 1616 when Levan Dadiani was the prince of Samegrelo.
Chaladidi is also mentioned in the 1771-1772 travel notes of the German traveler and naturalist, Johann Güldenstädt from when he traveled through Georgia.
In the 19th century, a canal was built between the rivers of Tsivi and Khobistskali, to connect the region by bridge and make traveling easier. In that period, many people from mountainous Samegrelo and Imereti areas moved here and created their settlements.
In the Middle Ages, people grew corn, millet, tobacco, and grapevines, and also hunted animals. Today, the people of Chaladidi mostly farm animals and cultivate cereal grains.
During archaeological excavations, a Colchian dwelling was discovered around Chaladidi. Visit the Saint Nino Church and the white Mantskhvarkari Church in the center of the village.