The cave complex can be dated back to the 17th and 18th centuries. It has entrances from both the east and west, with the western entrance once surrounded by a high wall.
At one time this impressive complex united eight caves of varying sizes. The first was the smallest, while the second one, covered in soot, has a door leading to the third, built out of bricks that were cut and painted white.
The second room also has a platform from which it is possible to reach the fourth and fifth rooms.
The fifth room has gun-ports looking out over the valley. There is a platform in the fifth room which leads to the sixth. A narrow tunnel path leads to the seventh room, whose three rooms are made of brick, and with the fourth being cave layers.
This room connects to the church. On the right wall of the brick church are depicted a scene of construction and saints.
Given the size and complexity of the cave network, there must have been a spring in the caves as well. It is believed to have dried up following the 1940 earthquake.