Like many churches built at the turn of the 13th century, Pitareti stands in a secluded valley, far from population centres.
The nearest town is Tetritsqaro.
It is stated on the vestibule of the monastery that it was built between the years 1213 to 1222. This was during the reign of Tamar’s son Lasha-Giorgi, when Georgia was the most powerful state in the Caucasus. Pitareti itself is considered to be the most magnificent example of Georgian architecture from that period.
The complex contains the Mother of God crossed-dome church, a bell tower, a platform, a wall, and other outbuildings.
The church is outstanding for the diverse decorations on its façade, with complex ornamentation finished with exceptional artistry. The walls were built with stones of many different colors.
The monastery was the property of the Baratashvili-Orbeliani noble family for centuries and their crypt is still there to this day. The gravestones in the churchyard also contain an abundance of historical information.
Today, there is a functioning monastery at Pitareti. The monastery’s festival, Pitaretoba, is held every year on the 4th of December.