According to legend, this monastery was built after nuns in the previously-built monastery on Jikheti Mountain suffered from a lack of water and sought a new place for the convent. The responsibility was given to three pigeons: the convent would move to wherever they flew.
According to some historical sources, the church was built during the reign of Queen Tamar (12th century CEl, but by the 19th century only ruins remained. In 1896, Ilarion Menabde from Ozurgeti Town built the main part of the complex, the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary.
In 1987-88, a bell tower and St. George’s Basilica were added to the main cathedral. Thereafter, in 2002, the Church of the Assumption of St. John the Baptist was built, and in 2011, the Church of the Holy Apostles was constructed, with colored stones imported from all over Georgia.
In the courtyard of the temple babbles the "spring of Jordan," which is attributed with miraculous properties. On December 4 every year, on the day of arrival of Holy Virgin Mary to the Temple, traditionally the holiday of the Jikheti nunnery "Jikhetoba" is celebrated, and a special service is held.