The 10-11th century church has two entrances: the southern entrance and the main gate. The small room is decorated with carved stones, while the upper part of the entrance is built with processed stones.
Inside the church are frescos of local nobility of the XI century. Closer to the iconostasis, on the northwest side of the sanctuary are unique stonework and bas relief of David and two cubs.
Zemo Krikhi church was famous for its treasures and silver icons covered by jewels. Among all such icons, the silver Virgin Mary icon is noteworthy, covered with gold and precious stones.
The church was renovated in 1884 and a new space was added to the western side.