Dadiani Palace was one of the first European-style palaces built in the historical territory of Odishi, today known as Zugdidi.
The structure was built in the 17th century, with a thorough restoration in the 1860s that was led by an English architect. Five thousand hand-made parts and more than fifty thousand Colchic ornaments were created just to make the balconies and roofs, which, to this day, continue to fascinate locals and tourists alike.
Ekaterine Dadiani, the last queen of Odishi and mistress of the palace, had exceptional taste, which can be found in every nook and cranny of the building.
Next to the queen’s place is the palace of the Dadiani heir, Niko’s Palace, which has a very beautiful dining hall.
By the way, don’t be surprised if you hear Napoleon’s name mentioned in connection with the Dadianis. The Megrelian family had blood ties with the Bonapartes: Salome Dadiani was married to Napoleon’s nephew Achille Murat.
A botanical garden was set up around the palace in 1840. The gardener invited by the queen planned the garden in the French style. Today, there are unique plants planted across all 67 hectares of the gardens.
Nowadays there is a museum in the two Dadiani palaces, which contains more than 44,475 antique objects, including one of Napoleon Bonaparte’s private belongings and also one of his death masks, of which there are only three in the world.
Every year on July 15th, a religious holiday of Vlakernoba is celebrated. The sacred robe of Virgin Mary is taken from the palace to the church at the palace entrance, where Orthodox believers come from all over the world to pay it their respects.